Georgia Center for the Book
Thomas N. Lux

Thomas N. Lux

Georgia Connections

  • Atlanta, Fulton County, Member, Georgia Tech faculty, Director of the visiting Writers Program

Notes of Interest

Thomas N. Lux is Bourne Professor of Poetry, Director of the McEver Visiting Writers Program at Georgia Tech and Director of Poetry @ Tech. A prolific and much-honored poet, he has become since his arrival at Tech earlier this decade an important figure in Atlanta's poetry community. Under his direction, dozens of nationally acclaimed poets have presented programs at Tech, and Lux has generously involved himself in the Atlanta literary community in addition to his teaching responsibilities. In 2010, his collection, "New and Selected Poems, 1975-1995," was chosen for inclusion on the Georgia Center for the Book's list of "25 Books All Georgians Should Read."

He was born December 10, 1946 in Northampton, Massachusetts, and was educated at Emerson College in Boston and the University of Iowa. He published his first book, "Memory's Handgrenade," in 1972, preceded by a chapbook, "The Land Sighted" in 1970. He was the poet-in-residence at Emerson College from 1972-1975 and was a long-time member of the writing faculty at Sarah Lawrence College and the Warren Wilson MFA Program for Writers. He also taught at the University of California-Irvine and the University of Michigan before being invited to join the faculty at Georgia Tech. He has been awarded grants from the Guggenheim Foundation and the Mellon Foundation and the National Endowment for the Arts. In 1995 he was awarded the $50,000 Kingsley Tufts Prize for his collection, "Split Horizon." He has thrice been a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Award in Poetry.

His books include "The Glassblower's Breath" (1976); "Madrigal on the Way Home" chapbook (1976); "Sunday (1979); "Like a Wide Anvil from the Moon the Light" chapbook (1980); "Massachusetts" chapbook (1981); "Tarantulas on the Lifebuoy" chapbook (1983); Half Promised Land" (1986); "The Drowned River" (1990); "A Boat in the Forest" chapbook (91992); "Pecked to Death by Swans" chapbook (1993); "Split Horizon" (1994); "The Blind Swimmer: Selected Early Poems, 1970-1975" (1996); New and Selected Poems, 1975-1995" (1997), a finalist for the Leonore Marshall Poetry Prize; "The Street of Clocks" (2001); "The Cradle Place" (2004); and "God Particles" (2008).

See the latest Georgia Center for the Book news

Sign up for our newsletter to keep up with what's new at Georgia Center for the Book

Georgia Center for the Book is hosted by

and is an affiliate of