Books All Georgians Should Read

Authors of the Month: May

About Contact

:Events:

All events are free. No tickets or reservations necessary.

June 2018

YATL Featuring Zoraida Cordova, Dhonielle Clayton, Julie Murphy, Scott Reintgen, and Mark Oshiro, June 20, 2018

The brain-child of Writer and Artist ,Jessi Esparza; former Bookseller and Author, Kimberly Jones; and Author, Photographer, and Writer, Vania Stoyanova, YATL is a zanny, Jimmy Kimmel-esque live talk show for readers and writers of Young Adult Literature. Featuring games, interviews and lip-synching, the shenanigan-filled show features Georgia-based, and best-selling Authors and exposes readers to the diverse voices in Young Adult Literature. Featured guests for June are: Zoraida Cordova, Dhonielle Clayton, Julie Murphy, Scott Reintgen,...

Read More

Poetry Atlanta Presents..., June 25, 2018

Poetry Atlanta presents another evening of poetry featuring poets Louise Runyon, Alex Johns and Laura Carter. Hosted by poet, author and editor Collin Kelley.

Read More

Julie Williams, June 27, 2018

One of the more eccentric figures in the antebellum South was Joseph Addison Turner, born to the plantation and trained to run one. All he really wanted to do, though, was to be a famous writer―and to be the founder of Southern literature. He tried and failed and tried and failed at publishing magazines, poems, books, articles, journals, all while halfheartedly running a plantation. When the Civil War broke out, he no longer had access...

Read More

Amber Brock, June 28, 2018

Set in the 1950s, Lady Be Good marks Amber Brock’s mesmerizing return, sweeping readers into the world of the mischievous, status-obsessed daughter of a hotel magnate and the electric nightlife of three iconic cities: New York, Miami, and Havana.

Read More

Sabaa Tahir, June 29, 2018

In partnership with Little Shop of Stories, the Georgia Center for the Book is pleased to rpesent the highly anticipated third book in #1 New York Times bestselling author Sabaa Tahir’s Ember Quartet. Beyond the Martial Empire and within it, the threat of war looms ever larger. Helene Aquilla, the Blood Shrike, is desperate to protect her sister’s life and the lives of everyone in the Empire. But she knows that danger lurks on all sides: Emperor...

Read More

July 2018

David Bottoms, July 11, 2018

David Bottoms explores otherness, the death of parents, and private spirituality. Images of rural Georgia confront the changing landscape of his memories where he searches for refuge in quiet places of prayer. Rooted in nature, Bottoms’ poetry affirms the “tenuous ways tenderness seeps into the world” and the loneliness inherent in memory. Memory is “smoke off a damp fire” as Bottoms explores absence, a contemplative inner life, and changing landscapes.

Read More

Dr. Marietta Collins, Dr. Marianne Celano, and Dr. Ann Hazzard, July 17, 2018

As a series of high-profile killings of black men and boys by police officers shook the country, three Atlanta child psychologists, and longtime colleagues, wanted to do something to spark conversations about racial injustice, counter negative stereotypes and encourage young people to embrace people of all races, cultures and backgrounds. They penned a children’s book, Something Happened In Our Town, to address police shootings and systematic racism going back centuries. Our discussion tonight will feature...

Read More

Ricki Schultz, July 23, 2018

Switch and Bait is a charming, hilarious romantic comedy told with sharp insight and sarcastic wit, for readers of Helen Fielding, Maria Semple, Emily Giffin, or Jennifer Weiner. Ricki Schultz’s trademark irreverent humor and wry insight into the absurdities of modern dating are both outrageously funny and genuinely moving in her unforgettable new novel.

Read More