Books All Georgians Should Read

Authors of the Month: July

About Contact

:Events:

All events are free. No tickets or reservations necessary.

July 2018

Ricki Schultz, July 23, 2018

Switch and Bait is a charming, hilarious romantic comedy told with sharp insight and sarcastic wit, for readers of Helen Fielding, Maria Semple, Emily Giffin, or Jennifer Weiner. Ricki Schultz’s trademark irreverent humor and wry insight into the absurdities of modern dating are both outrageously funny and genuinely moving in her unforgettable new novel.

Read More

YATL Featuring Will Walton, Carlie Sorosiak, Shawn Sarles, and Devri Walls, July 25, 2018

The brain-child of writer and artist, Jessi Esparza; former bookseller and author, Kimberly Jones; and author, photographer, and writer, Vania Stoyanova, YATL is a zany, Jimmy Kimmel-esque live talk show for readers and writers of Young Adult literature. Featuring games, interviews and lip-synching, the shenanigan-filled show features Georgia-based, and best-selling authors and exposes readers to the diverse voices in Young Adult literature. Featured guests for July are: Will Walton, Carlie Sorosiak, Shawn Sarles, and Devri...

Read More

August 2018

David Butler, Alayne Smith, Michael W. Paul, and Tori Bailey, August 3, 2018

The Georgia Center for the Book and ArtistFirst Radio Network’s The Doug Dahlgren Show are pleased to present the next list of Authors You Should Know! For August host Doug Dahlgren will interview David Butler, Alayne Smith, Michael W. Paul, and Tori Bailey! Be there to hear about these fabulous writers. A brief Q&A session, following the interview, will offer attendees the opportunity to address the authors directly.

Read More

Cheryl Reid, August 6, 2018

A powerful and haunting novel of a woman’s broken past and the painful choices she must make to keep her family and her home. August 1956. After a night of rage and terror, Anna Nassad wakes to find her abusive husband dead and instinctively hides her bruises and her relief. As the daughter of Syrian immigrants living in segregated Alabama, Anna has never belonged, and now her world is about to erupt. Days before, Anna set in...

Read More

George Yancy, August 7, 2018

When George Yancy penned a New York Times op-ed entitled “Dear White America” asking white Americans to confront the ways that they benefit from racism, he knew his article would be controversial. But he was unprepared for the flood of vitriol in response. The resulting blowback played out in the national media, with critics attacking Yancy in every form possible—including death threats—and supporters rallying to his side. Despite the rhetoric of a “post-race” America, Yancy quickly...

Read More

Delia Owens, August 15, 2018

New York Times bestselling author Delia Owens comes to the Georgia Center for the Book to discuss her debut novel Where the Crawdads Sing. Fans of Barbara Kingsolver will love this stunning debut novel from a New York Times bestselling nature writer, about an unforgettable young woman, abandoned at age ten to survive alone in the wild coastal marsh of North Carolina. For years, rumors of the “Marsh Girl” haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet fishing village....

Read More

2018 Fall Book Preview, August 21, 2018

Back once again by popular demand is one of our most exciting programs for the end of the summer. Representatives from America’s biggest publishers will return to the library to talk about the exciting new books that will be published this fall. It’s a unique opportunity to get an advance look at notable upcoming book titles in the fields of biography, fiction, history, young adult, mystery, fantasy and many more! Come meet and chat with...

Read More