Books All Georgians Should Read

Authors of the Month: May

About Contact

Subscribe to our mailing list

:Events:

Live Author Talk with Amy Jo Burns & Megha Majumdar

Live Author Talk with Amy Jo Burns & Megha Majumdar

Crowdcast

June 9, 2020, 7:00 p.m. EST

The Decatur Book Festival, A Cappella Books and Georgia Center for the Book at DCPL welcome Amy Jo Burns and Megha Majumdar to discuss their new books Shiner (Burns) and A Burning (Majumdar). They will appear in conversation with Atlanta’s own Joshilyn Jackson, the New York Times bestselling author of The Almost Sisters and Never Have I Ever. This program is free and open to the public. To attend, go to the Decatur Book Festival website to register for the Crowdcast event. A Cappella Books has copies of Shiner and A Burning available for pre-order online. Shipping, curbside pick-up and local delivery options are available. Purchase Shiner here. Purchase A Burning here. Amy Jo Burns is the author of Cinderland, and her work has appeared in Salon, Good Housekeeping, Ploughshares Online, Electric Literature, and Roxane Gay’s anthology, Not That Bad. A graduate of Cornell University and Hunter College’s MFA program. Amy Jo’s new novel is Shiner. Rich with epic love and epic loss, and diving deep into a world that is often forgotten but still part of America, Shiner reveals the hidden story behind two generations’ worth of Appalachian heartbreak and resolve. Megha Majumdar was born and raised in Kolkata, India. She moved to the United States to attend college at Harvard University, followed by graduate school in social anthropology at Johns Hopkins University. She works as an editor at Catapult, and lives in New York City. A Burning is her first book. For readers of Tommy Orange, Yaa Gyasi, and Jhumpa Lahiri, A Burning is an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who seek to rise—to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies—and find their lives entangled in the wake of a catastrophe in contemporary India.