Books All Georgians Should Read

Authors of the Month: July

About Contact

Subscribe to our mailing list


CANCELED - 2020 Townsend Prize for Fiction

CANCELED - 2020 Townsend Prize for Fiction

DeKalb History Center

April 23, 2020, 6:00 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.

The safety of our community is our highest priority at Georgia State University and the Georgia Center for the Book. Out of an abundance of caution regarding the current coronavirus situation, the Townsend Prize for Fiction award ceremony scheduled to take place at 6 p.m. on Thursday, April 23, 2020 at the DeKalb History Center has been cancelled. Those patrons who have already purchased tickets to the event can contact Joe Davich, executive director of the Georgia Center for the Book, for a refund at 404-370-3070, ext. 2285. After April 23, please contact Alicia Johanneson ( for any possible updates about the prize’s awarding. With a legacy of more than a quarter century, the Townsend Prize is the state of Georgia’s oldest and most prestigious literary award. The 2020 celebration will mark the thirty-eighth year of the award’s existence, and the twenty-first awarding of the prize. The Chattahoochee Review and the Georgia Center for the Book are co-administrators for the prize, and Perimeter College at Georgia State University the custodian. Additional sponsors include the DeKalb Library Foundation, The Atlanta Writers Club, and Atlanta Magazine. The finalists for the 2020 award represent the very best achievements in letters by Georgia writers over the course of the preceding two years, reflecting the prize’s celebration of the Southern voice in all its intricacies and incarnations. The 2020 award ceremony will begin at 6 p.m. and feature a catered reception and bar, with live music. The evening’s program will begin at 7 p.m., which includes the celebration’s keynote address from Patrick Ryan, acclaimed author of the short story collection The Dream Life of Astronauts, the novel Send Me, and three novels for young adults. The winner of the 2020 Townsend Prize for Fiction will be announced at the at conclusion of the program. Tickets are available for sale now through April 16, 2020. For information or to purchase tickets, visit here. The list of finalists is as follows: Brass by Xhenet Aliu The Wrong Heaven by Amy Bonnaffons The Day’s Heat by Roberta George The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls by Anissa Gray The Vain Conversation by Anthony Grooms The Magnetic Girl by Jessica Handler Unmarriageable by Soniah Kamal Wild Milk by Sabrina Orah Mark Dixie Luck by Andy Plattner Fire Sermon by Jamie Quatro